Treasurer McRae Announces 2022 Art Contest Winners

David McRae today announced the 2022 College Savings Mississippi Art Contest winners with a reception at the Mississippi Museum of Art. Twelve students and one teacher took home a combined $3,500 worth of scholarships during the event.

“In these students’ artwork, we saw the beauty of their creativity, but also a snapshot of their dreams,” said McRae. “I am excited to see where these dreams will take them, and I’m thrilled to help them along with a scholarship from College Savings Mississippi.”

The College Savings Mississippi Art Contest is an annual event held by the State Treasurer’s Office. This year, more than 1,700 students competed for twelve scholarships by drawing a picture of what they wanted to become when they grew up. First place winners will receive a $500 scholarship in the form of a Mississippi Affordable College Savings (MACS) account. Second place receives a $250 scholarship, and third place receives a $100 scholarship.

MACS is a Mississippi 529 College Savings plan offered through the Office of the State Treasurer. With MACS, families can open a tax-advantaged savings account for educational expenses. The money in these accounts can be used for college tuition and expenses. The funds can also be applied to secondary and elementary private tuition, apprenticeship programs, student loans, and more. For detailed information about the program, please visit


Age Group: Early Elementary (PreK-Grade 2)
1st Place: Brandon Chapman, Flowood Elementary School in Flowood (Photo)
2nd Place: Allegra Browne, First Presbyterian Day School in Jackson (Photo)
3rd Place: Atharva Mantri, Northeast Elementary School in Meridian (Photo)
Age Group: Elementary (Grades 3-5)
1st Place: Amaan Joes Jemsheer, Pillow Academy in Greenwood (Photo)
2nd Place: Hudson Presley, Ida B Wells APAC in Jackson
3rd Place: Abigail Carroll, Ocean Springs Upper Elementary in Ocean Springs (Photo)
Age Group: Middle School (Grades 6-8)
1st Place: Abigail Zariah Moore, Oak Grove Middle School in Hattiesburg (Photo)
2nd Place: Jaliyah Bell, Ida B Wells APAC in Jackson (Photo)
3rd Place: Andre Clay, Ida B Wells APAC in Jackson (Photo, Award was accepted by teacher Renna Moore on behalf of Andre Clay)
Age Group: High School (Grades 9-12)
1st Place: Lillianna Johnson, Harrison Central High School in Gulfport
2nd Place: Ashton Watson, Starkville Academy in Starkville
3rd Place: Ella Frances Parker, Saltillo High School in Saltillo