McRae Announces 2024 Art Contest Winners, $7,000+ in Scholarships

JACKSON, Miss. – David McRae this week announced the 2024 College Savings Mississippi Art Contest winners with a reception at the Mississippi Museum of Art. Twelve students and one teacher took home more than $7,000 worth of scholarships during the event.

“I love getting to see students’ imaginations and dreams run wild in their artwork,” said Treasurer McRae. “I hope that these scholarships from Mississippi College and Career Savings helps propel these students on their way to achieving those dreams.”

The College Savings Mississippi Art Contest is an annual event held by the State Treasurer’s Office. This year, nearly 2,000 students competed for twelve scholarships, making it one of the most competitive years in Treasury history! First place winners received a $1,000 scholarship in the form of a Mississippi Affordable College Savings (MACS) account. Second place received a $500 scholarship, and third place received a $250 scholarship.

Additionally, Ms. Ginger Fisher from Mannsdale Elementary School, took home the Art Contest Teacher of the Year award and was awarded the $200 Educator Scholarship! She had over 200 students submit art pieces this year. With the Educator Scholarship, she will be able to continue to inspire young minds through art.

MACS is a Mississippi 529 College and Career Savings plan offered through the Office of the State Treasurer. With MACS, families can open a tax-advantaged savings account for educational expenses. The money in these accounts can be used for college tuition and expenses. The funds can also be applied to secondary and elementary private tuition, apprenticeship programs, student loans, and more. For detailed information about the program, please visit

Group Photo

Age Group: Early Elementary (PreK-Grade 2)
1st Place: Makena Robinson from Mannsdale Elementary School (Event Photo)
2nd Place: Henry Moore from Vardaman Attendance Center (Event Photo)
3rd Place: Austin Humphery from Hillcrest Christian School (Event Photo)

Age Group: Elementary (Grades 3-5)
1st Place: Kyla Gust from Madison Avenue Upper Elementary (Event Photo)
2nd Place: Atharva Mantri from Northeast Lauderdale Elementary School (Event Photo)
3rd Place: Sloane Montgomery from Madison Station Elementary School (Event Photo)

Age Group: Middle School (Grades 6-8)
1st Place: Jordyn Sledge from Ida B. Wells APAC (Event Photo)
2nd Place: Andre Clay from Ida B. Wells APAC (Event Photo)
3rd Place: Simms Powell from Ida B. Wells APAC (Event Photo)

Age Group: High School (Grades 9-12)
1st Place: Madison Heildelburg from Brandon High School (Event Photo)
2nd Place: Alexander Giddens from Saint Andrew’s Episcopal School (Event Photo)
3rd Place: Jaliyah Bell from Ida B. Wells APAC (Event Photo)

Teacher of the Year: Ginger Fisher from Mannsdale Elementary School (Event Photo)

·       Information on Mississippi Affordable College Savings (MACS) accounts.

Please contact Brittany Comins at